~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tyler Hillis

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a person.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Work History

About Me/Contact

Blog

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Goals for the year

Published on: January 10, 2022

~

Let's not call these "resolutions," nor "new year, new me ambitions."

These are things I've set in motion that I truly hope to either complete

or make serious progress on this year.

~

Get a publishing deal or crowd fund Eight Ball

This has been a project that I've been working on with my good friend

Maxence for nearly three years now. We've written a huge graphic novel

set in a cyberpunk setting that follows Evan Jira on a path of revenge.

~

We have just completed two chapters of full illustration with an artist

from England. We hope to complete the firt five chapters before

pitching the project to publishers. If that route doesn't work out,

we feel strong about our ability to crowd fund the book.

So here is to the year of EIGHT BALL!

~

Let's hope!

~

Seek publishing for The Beautiful (card) Game

Over winter break I played a whole bunch of board games. And I mean

a bunch.

~

It allowed me to get away from screens for an extended period of time,

and also find new inspiration in mechanics design. So, soon after

a two week binge of board and card games, an idea for one began

to percolate.

~

I've since made three iterations of a card/dice game based on the

sport of soccer. It's beginning to come to feel like a real, fun game

and I do think it could find some success.

~

So, the next steps are to get it in front of a few more people to

have them play it blind to see how it flows. After that, if it proves

to be as fun as I believe it is, we begin the search for publication.

~

Where and how will that work? No idea...I've never even looked into

it. But the challenge excites me.

~

Let's hope!

~

Rework and publish D.W. Dagger

This is a bit of a sore spot, but I'm determined to work through it.

Last year around this time I had developed a little detective video

game called D.W. Dagger. I began promoting it and was planning to

release it within two weeks.

~

However a strange sort of creative block took over. I believe it

was a combination of not knowing how to finish the last section

of the game, a fear of putting something I designed by myself

out there for people to judge, and beginning to promote it before

it was ready (something I want to avoid doing in the future).

~

Due to these factors, the game has sat in limbo for the past year.

Being nearly finished and yet I haven't been able to get myself

to even open it up.

~

SO, this year, I have a plan on how to address each contributing

factor and get the damn thing out. I really need the gremlin

off my back. I think it has contributed to extended periods

of depression in 2021, so I need to get it clear of my head.

~

Let's hope!

~

Motorcycle trip up Vancouver Island

One of my pandemic hobbies that I took up in 2021 was learning

how to ride motorcycles and getting my license. I also bought

a 250cc CSC SG 250.

~

No matter how irresponsible motorcycles are viewed by the

general public...it has been a bright spot over the past year.

~

So, I have been slowly planning a trip from my apartment in

Seattle to Vancouver Island, B.C. and to do a loop of the entire

island by motorcycle.

~

It sounds liberating and exciting and challenging and maybe

a little reckless. But fuck it, life ain't getting longer.

~

I'll probably need to either buy a new bike or rent one

that is more off-road capable (50% of the roads on the island

are dirt or gravel). I'll also need a handful of equipment

to make sure it's as safe as possible. And finally, I really

hope I can do it with a close friend I haven't spent much

time with recently. I hope it works out and we can have

a week or so together uninterrupted in order to reconnect.

~

Let's hope!